My Hair Journey.

Screen shot 2013-04-15 at 12.14.37 AM.png

The beginning of my freshman year of college, I wanted to do something dramatic, fresh, and new. I got to begin my life all over again. I could be whoever I wanted to be. So I chopped off alllllll of my hair. Every inch of it. I went to the hair dresser and said, “buzz it off, except leave the top part just a tid bit longer. I want to look like Natalie Portman.” It was a liberating experience, to say the least. This was September of 2010. This is when my hair journey began. My previous indecisiveness with hair has lead me to become more sure with decisions over time, as silly as that may sound. Hair was my release in making sporadic decisions while still staying in my comfort zone that I used to adore so much. As I get older, and the months turn into years, I direct this sporadic energy elsewhere, in places that actually matter to me, rather than something so visually and briefly aesthetically pleasing.

I got a good starting point by cutting my hair short. I used to be obsessive with dying my hair every single color since the 4th grade. Ever since I cut it off, I haven’t dyed it, only used a straightener once every 3 to 4 months, and had one hair cut to even it out (had a great short lived mullet) and a few trimmings here and there where I would barely remove anything but the rare split ends that I had. I got to view how quickly my hair grew and how much healthier it became. No supplements for hair growth, just healthy maintenance without  any chemicals externally and a healthy diet internally.

I went with the “no poo” method for one year, went back to shampoo and conditioner (I forget which one, but it was from my local health food store–will look for the half way unused bottle laying somewhere around this house if you are interested in knowing which one) and then went back to the “no poo” method after a couple of months of washing it with shampoo and conditioner. I highly recommend washing your hair with the “no poo” method if you are wanting quick results in hair growth and thickness. My hair is very fine and gets greasy quickly, and the “no poo” method worked out tremendously for me, gave my hair great body and shine, and completely got rid of dandruff!

The “No Poo” Method: 

  • 1-2 tablespoons of baking soda (use the aluminum free one!) to one cup of water and put in a water bottle, old shampoo bottle, or a pretty little mason jar (or whatever you have on hand!). Shake container and put over damp hair, focusing on the roots. You can alter the ratio of baking soda to water depending on how greasy your hair gets. I only do this once or twice a week, because even though my hair gets greasy easily, it also gets dry easily. Rinse thoroughly with cool to warm water (this promotes circulation and shiny hair).

*Note: Please know that since it’s “no poo”, don’t forget it’s not going to foam like those chemically shampoos that many people, like myself, were so used to!

  • 1/2 cup of apple cider vinegar (or as I like to call it, ACV) to 2 cups of water. Pour over hair and let sit for one to two minutes, massaging scalp as it is sitting. Rinse with cool to warm water. You can do this mixture however many times you desire a week. I personally only do it once every other day, every two days, or even every three days (depending on the season and activity level I am currently involved in). Showers dry my skin out tremendously if I consistently take too many of them.

Once a week, I do a coconut oil hair treatment. I heat up 2 tablespoons of coconut oil and massage it into my scalp and ends of my hair. I let it sit for one hour and then I wash it out with the “no poo” method.

If you choose not to do the “no poo” method, check out some homemade recipes for shampoo and conditioner that don’t have the chemicals that all of those store bought shampoos and conditioners contain. Just reading the ingredients on those labels should be enough inspiration to take the initiative to have a better scalp+head of hair!

Below are the pictures from September 2010 all the way to last week (April 2013) in order. I hope you became inspired with this post, as so many of you inspire me every day! If I forgot anything, please let me know by commenting below. I’d love to hear your questions/statements. Much love and light sent your way.

P.S.: I’m still on my hair journey! I’d be pleased if it was all the way down to my bottom. Hair will always be a fun thing to spice up one’s appearance, but I’m not going to cut it in anymore dramatic cuts like I used to. Long hair, don’t care :P

Screen shot 2013-04-14 at 10.48.57 PM.png

Screen shot 2013-04-14 at 11.14.36 PM.png

Screen shot 2013-04-14 at 10.52.52 PM.png

Screen shot 2013-04-14 at 10.54.35 PM.png

Screen shot 2013-04-14 at 10.57.05 PM.png

Screen shot 2013-04-14 at 10.58.45 PM.png

Screen shot 2013-04-14 at 11.00.01 PM.png

Screen shot 2013-04-14 at 11.01.06 PM.png

Screen shot 2013-04-14 at 11.02.24 PM.png

Screen shot 2013-04-14 at 11.03.37 PM.png

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Maya says:

    I am totally inspired. I am struggling with growing my hair since I’ve been 14 years old (So it has been 7 years now) and have been stuck in the shoulder length this whole time. It has been a year since I discovered true healthy eating, incorporate lots of raw vegan foods and fresh fruits in my daily diet. It grows SOOOO slowly… I will do the no-poo method :) you explained it so well! so happy i found this article!

    1. Thank you so much! Hopefully your hair will speed up it’s growing process! Much luck, love, and light sent your way.

Leave a Reply

