Dandy Blend

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

My eyes were puffy, I felt sluggish, and my allergies never seem to cease. I was drinking enough water and my diet is essentially only whole foods. My excess intake of coffee was the only thing that I could think of that could be too acidic for my body. My consumption of coffee was affecting me more than I thought. I love coffee with a little bit of coconut-almond milk almost every morning. It is a recent ritual of mine, over the past year or so. I thought that it helped me, along with my green juices, achieve the success over the heavy school loads that I had. I knew I had a problem and if it’s beneficial for my health, I was willing to change it. I feel as if my allergies make me more susceptible to sensitivities of foods and I need to be conscious of that (although that doesn’t mean I am so “accepting” of it). That’s when I learned about Dandy Blend. It doesn’t produce a strain on your adrenals like coffee does. It also doesn’t produce that disappointing crash later on in the day. Not to mention, it tastes delicious. Along with changing some of my skin care products, eliminating caffeine to some extent (coffee, and yes–chocolate) has been the best thing for my allergies and puffy eyes. Granted, my eyes will always be slightly puffy (those Irish genes get the best of me), but it really does help tremendously. I don’t think I will give up chocolate and coffee completely, but maybe limit it to only special occasions only a couple of times a year.

About Dandy Blend:

Ingredients: Extracts of roasted barley, rye, chicory root, dandelion root and sugar beet.

First, let’s talk about the ingredients. It’s gluten free, although the ingredients might lead you to believe otherwise. Barley and rye both naturally have the protein, gluten, that so many people are intolerant or allergic to. Dandy Blend extracts the beneficial properties of the roasted barley and rye as explained on their website: “It contains no gluten. Gluten, which is comprised of proteins that are not water-soluble, is left behind in the grounds to be composted during the extracting process, leaving Dandy Blend gluten-free.” This is great news for someone who has difficulties digesting that weird protein! Not only does this drink give the comforting coffee-like ritual, but it also has a good bit of benefits. As stated on their website, Dandy Blend has “over 50 trace minerals in each cup, most of which the body uses to help synthesize compounds needed in metabolism.”

Now that we moved on from the fact of Dandy Blend being gluten free, let’s look at some of the benefits of each of the ingredients:

  • Barley is a great source of dietary fiber, selenium, copper, vitamin B1, magnesium, and phosphorus. It serves as intestinal protection, lowers cholesterol, and protects against Atherosclerosis. (source)
  • Per every 0.33 cup (55.77 grams), Rye has 72% manganese, 34% fiber, 26% phosphorus, 22% copper, 16% pantothenic acid, and 15% magnesium. It has been known to help prevent gallstones, helps lower type 2 diabetes risk, helps prevent heart failure, and has “anti-cancer activity equal to or even higher than that of vegetables and fruits”. (source)
  • Chicory root protects the liver, helps those who have a loss of appetite, helps relieve constipation, liver disorders, and people with a rapid heartbeat. It helps relieve those with upset stomach issues and improves digestion. Chicory root also helps those with cancer to some degree, for it reduces swelling and inflammation. It also works as a mild laxative and increases the bile production in the gallbladder. It’s a great source of beta-carotene. (source)
  • Dandelion root, and the star of this show, serves as a digestive aid promoting stimulation in appetite, is a mild laxative, and balances beneficial bacteria within our intestines. It helps clean the waste, salt, and excess water out of the kidneys while also inhibiting microbial growth within our urinary tract. It removes toxins from the liver and also balances our electrolytes (this keeps us hydrated, unlike the acidic counterpart of coffee, which greatly dehydrates us!). Dandelion root is a great source of antioxidants and also slows the growth (while also preventing) the spread of cancer. (source)
  • As for the sugar beet, it’s just there to make Dandy Blend have that delicious subtly sweet undertone.

What does Dandy Blend taste like?

It’s earthy, much like the taste of coffee. It’s advised to use 1 level teaspoon per 8 oz of liquid for a tea-like beverage, 1 rounded teaspoon per 8 oz liquid for a drink relative to that of a full-bodied coffee, and 1 tablespoon to something of the effect of an espresso. I always do the 1 tablespoon, because not only does it give me the desired energy, but it also just tastes the best. I whisk it on the stove in a coconut-almond milk, almond milk, or (my new favorite) cashew milk. Sometime I add a drop or two of vanilla extract just to make it an extra special drink. I think cinnamon would taste amazing in it, too, although I haven’t tried it yet. Dandy Blend is definitely a comforting yet enlivening beverage.

Is it expensive? Where do you get it? 

I was surprised to find that it’s not expensive at all! Very affordable for a college kid like myself. On their website, Dandy Blend explains that each cup costs around 7 cents per cup. Who could pass up a price like that? Compared to a $2+ cup of coffee at a coffee shop, the dandelion drink seems like a steal. Plus it has way more benefits than coffee. I purchased my bag off of Amazon for $11.89 for a 7.05 oz bag and I haven’t seen the bags in stores. From what I noticed on their website, they predominantly sell in Ohio stores. Now, if you choose to switch to Dandy Blend of something like it, make sure you store the mixture properly. I read a lot of reviews saying that it’s extremely sensitive to moisture and hardens up like a rock. I put mine in a freezer bag in the freezer to keep the moisture out, but you can also put it in an airtight jar, such as a mason jar.

I hope that this review was helpful and maybe it can help your adrenals out, too!

Visit Dandy Blend’s website to learn more: www.dandyblend.com

Sources:

“Dandy Blend Instant Herbal Coffee Substitute.” Dandy Blend Instant Herbal Coffee Substitute. N.p., n.d. Web. 21 Feb. 2015.

“Barley.” Barley. N.p., n.d. Web. 21 Feb. 2015.

“Rye.” Rye. N.p., n.d. Web. 21 Feb. 2015.

“Chicory: Uses, Side Effects, Interactions and Warnings – WebMD.” WebMD. WebMD, n.d. Web. 21 Feb. 2015.

“11 Health Benefits of Dandelion and Dandelion Root – Sunwarrior News.”Sunwarrior News RSS. N.p., 15 Apr. 2013. Web. 21 Feb. 2015.

Disclaimer: I was not paid to construct these views. All stated stances are self provoked. 

Leave a Reply

