Simple Vegan Chili Recipe

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Sometimes I over complicate chili. I want to add all of these crazy ingredients (i.e. beer, sweet potato, etc) and I end up not being satisfied. I always feel as if I’m not creating the best chili that I can. Then, one day, I only had a limited amount of ingredients to use. I decided to make a stove top chili with these ingredients and it ended up being the best chili I have made to date. Sometimes the simpler the ingredients, the tastier it will be. Here is my recipe for the best vegan chili:

  • 1 cup cooked kidney beans (I soaked dry kidney beans for 24 hours then cooked them)
  • 1 can fire roasted tomatoes/no salt added roasted tomatoes
  • 1 fresh jalepeno/chopped
  • 4 cloves of garlic/chopped
  • 1/2 a large vidalia onion
  • 3 tablespoons chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • pinch of pink himalayan salt/add to desired taste
  • 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1 cup of water

Sautee onion until transluscent. Add garlic and sautee until garlic sweats and the aroma is very noticable. Add all of the ingredients to a pot and cook on low medium heat until it gets to a desired consistency. Top with avocado/cilantro/lime/any of your favorite toppings. Serve with your favorite cornbread recipe.

Leave a Reply

